Delve Deep: Morocco

Delve Deep: Morocco

49 feefo Reviews

  • Elizabeth St April 2024

    Was super happy with the whole trip, had an amazing group and tour guide Mouna. The Sahara was a highlight for sure. Some of the accomodation could have been better. The desert camp and the stay the day before the desert were exceptional. The accomodation in Chefchauoen was great too. Our guide was super informative and interacted really great with the group.

  • Nicole Di March 2024

    Trio was great and very fun, some scheduling things that felt like we travelled more than saw things although I guess that’s to be expected.

  • Grace December 2023

    Amazing trip! Couldn't fault it at all. Our tour guide Jaouad was friendly and very informative. Our coach driver Khalid was always happy to help and really put the icing on the cake when, at the end of the trip, he bought us all a model of a small camel as a souvenir!

    The accommodation was much better than expected, certainly comfortable enough for a night or two. The range of cities we explored was fantastic and it was really helpful to have a guide to orientate us and provide recommendations in each place we visited. The Sahara Desert was everyone's favourite and the sunset camel ride was spectacular.

    Even though there were days of long driving, these were some of my favourite days as the scenery was stunning! Seeing the countryside in Morocco as well as the cities really made it feel like we were seeing the country as a whole, rather than just glimpses from touristy hotspots. The journeys were manageable as we never drove for more than 2hr 30 mins without a break and these travel days were often broken up by having a nice traditional lunch out or seeing some sights.

    Morocco is my favourite country that I have explored - thanks Topdeck!

  • Anonymous November 2023

    Good value for money - some of the accomodation was lacking in facilities which made the stays slightly uncomfortable. No one was expecting 5 star accomodation, but a couple of nights the accomodation would be generous to get a two star. On the days where the lunches are non-negotiable, it would be easier to have them included in the cost of the tour.

  • Blake Hu November 2023

    The food, the Medina's, the dessert, the scenery, the culture, the people and `Mo our guide. All of it and so much more was amazing. Could not recommend highly enough going to Morocco with Topdeck!

  • Stephanie Jo September 2023

    Morocco is amazing!!!!
    The tour/trip was so-so. I believe the review is impacted by the tour guide, so you may have a better experience with a different guide.

    The below is based on my trip, and I ended my trip just before the earthquake in September 2023.

    Items to be aware of when booking the trip.
    - it’s a lot of driving! I would say almost half the trip is driving! This is a country I would want to return to, but I think I would do it by either flying between, or knowing I have a full day of travel between and staying longer in the places
    - you don’t see anything in Casablanca, so if that’s a key spot, I’d recommend going earlier (I went a day earlier and that was plenty)
    - our tour guide requested tip money - even though this is against Topdeck policy, and I brought this to their attention, but still was required to pay 500dih for tip - approx $50euro (it apparently went to the hotel staff, random activities not included within the guide, dinner staff (even after we paid a tip with our meal) - however I didn’t see any money exchange, so cannot confirm if it was spent on that)
    - tipping - it’s expected, but at restaurants, but like a coin here or there (10dir, 1 euro), but only if it’s great service. Some bathrooms do want coins, but it’s not heavily enforced (it’s more for the toilet paper)
    - accommodation - it’s a real mix - every basic (some with cockroaches) to really nice - just set your expectations to be a bit low
    - Fes - if there is specific things you want, ensure you tell the guide, as you do the Medina as a group (other Medinas you can do on your own)
    - Fes dinner - I don’t recommend going to the group dinner - food is very average and very overpriced. There is a “show” but I sat in a spot where you couldn’t see much, and I would have preferred more a authentic dinner (everyone was a tourist at this dinner) (meal was 250dir - approx 25 euros - plus money for water/drinks, when my meal the night before was less than 10 euros and included soft drinks, and tip)
    - souvenirs - I’d you see something you like, just buy it! Others on the group wanted coasters, and were told to wait to Fes, I bought mine in chefchaouen, but once we got to Fes, the coaster place was the mosaic place where prices are $$$ and the others wanted to pay less an 10euro for a set, and we’re quite annoyed. I recommend any time you see something, just get it - the chances of finding the stall again are slim, and you never know if you’ll find it again.
    - stamps - if you want to send a postcard, you can only buy stamps at the post office, and it shuts early (around 4pm), but Marrakech airport has a post office

    Overall, I loved the country, but the tour was below my expectations, which I think was mainly because of the tour guide (unorganized, rude, giving incorrect information (example coasters))

    This is certainly a country where you could do it by yourself - just would take a little more time for planning, but you could stay in some amazing riads, and everything is on your time, and you see and do what you want!

  • Anonymous September 2023

    Fantastic trip through Morocco, our guide was amazing and always ready to help everyone out with additional activities.

    Chefchaouen, the Medina of Fes and the Sahara were highlights. The camel ride at sunset and then climbing the dunes for sunrise is something I will never forget.

    Too many good moments to mention, highly recommend this trip if you are interested in North Africa.

  • Anonymous June 2023

    An absolutely incredible trip through a beautiful and diverse country!

  • Matthew Sm June 2023

    Exactly what I was looking for. Perfect balance of cultural experiences, fun with the group, and quiet time to explore or rest. And the tour guide, Fouad, was phenomenal!

  • Stephanie Bu June 2023
  • Anonymous May 2023

    Pros: Amazing food experiences! The best part was getting invited to homes of local families and experiencing amazing home-made local cuisine. They were so warm and friendly and hospitable! One of those nights even ended in garbing traditional attire and dancing!

    Cons: We spent way too much time travelling from one place to another on the bus. We were running behind on most activities daily.

  • Anonymous May 2023

    Morocco is a beautiful country and I felt completely safe with the tour!

  • Anonymous October 2022

    Idk how this is different than what I created above.

  • Anonymous October 2022

    Once arrived, the trip went smoothly. If there were anything I could suggest it’d maybe be an extra day in the desert to relax and appreciate the surroundings. Apart from that, it covered everything I wanted, and went for the perfect amount of time.

  • Momil Si October 2022

    Thank you Hicham and Topdeck! I would have never experienced Morocco the same if I did a solo trip. Sharing the meals and camel rides with other travelers really made the experience beyond 5 stars!

    Highlights; camel ride in the Sahara desert, starry nights, amazing tagine and comfortable roadtrip across the High Atlas and making numerous stops to see the culture in between!

  • Anna Br August 2022
  • Katrina Sc August 2022

    This tour of Morocco was one of my favorite tours I have ever done. Our tour manager Fouad was incredible.

  • Anonymous August 2022

    Well organized tour with a good balance of planned activities and free time.

  • Anonymous August 2022

    i think it's a great set of locations to experience many sides to morocco, immersing oneself into local cultures and witnessing the beautiful sights on offer

    also was the perfect trip length, not too exhausting but long enough to become attuned

  • Amaarah Sa August 2022
  • Anonymous August 2022

    Such an amazing trip! You get to see so much within the 10 days, that you wouldn’t normally see on your own. The Sahara desert was the best part. Would highly recommend this trip to anyone!

  • Anonymous August 2022

    I had severe allergies to the dust in the hotels, there was too much driving and the tour bus was uncomfortable

  • Erfan No August 2022
  • Anonymous August 2022

    The value for the price of the trip was excellent. All the accommodations and covered meals were amazing, and I feel Topdeck did an incredible job with their Morocco tour.

  • Anonymous August 2022

    Morocco was beautiful. The people on the tour were friendly and all round wonderful. Our guide, Fouad, was knowledgeable, and cheekily and gently pushed us all a little outside of our comfort zones at points. He was funny and cared for us when there was some illness.
    As my first Top Deck experience, it was fantastic and I will be doing another Top Deck soon because I enjoyed this experience so much

  • Gordon Se August 2022

    Really good trip that was thoroughly enjoyed however the price for this trip in 2022 was twice the price as the same trip that was initially booked for 2020 which was cancelled due to the pandemic

  • Anonymous August 2022

    Everything was good minus the heat! Although we would prefer mire variety of food selections in chosen restaurants, like the one in Hotel Chergui. We were tired of tajine by the end of the trip

  • Jade Sw August 2022
  • Jedd We August 2022

    This trip was one of the best things I have ever done. Everyday we remarked how well planned it was and how lucky we were to be seeing Morocco this way. Each stop is more amazing than the next, and the local tours with local guides were the perfect way to get introduced to our new surroundings. Doing Morocco with topdeck is perfect and having an amazing tour guide such as Adil made the trip even better. He was passionate, knowledgeable and kind and I feel blessed to have met him and to have experienced the beauty of Morocco this way.

  • Ashley C February 2019

    I am very happy with the tour overall and liked that I could see a little bit of each city. I feel like I got a well-rounded view of Morocco. However, I felt that the day in Fes was a bit rushed and that we were just taken to different places and exploited for our money. We were taken to several different shops and learned a lot about the different products they sell in the markets, but ultimately felt like the group was being herded around to spend money at overpriced shops that the tour guides had prior agreements with. In one instance, Ali G had mentioned that some scarf shops sell cheap scarves that run color when wet. He, of course, ditched us during the day in Fes and the local tour guide took us to one of these shops that sell "cheap scarves" and each paid between 100-200 moroccan dollars for each because that was the "lowest price" and we were rushed to get to the next destination. As soon as Ali sees us with the scarves, the first thing he does is put water on one and sees it run where he makes a comment about how they're cheap and makes us feel stupid.

    The day in Fes could've been planned out better where we could've been given more time to look on our own without feeling like we were being herded around to spend money.

  • Anonymous August 2018
  • Anonymous July 2018

    This trip was amazing, couldn't have asked for a better guide or group of travellers.

  • Guilherme Ca July 2018
  • Hailee H March 2018

    accommodations were what i expected and the meals that work included were good.

  • Yesenia G March 2018
  • Alexandra H January 2018

    My Moroccan Explorer trip was an incredible adventure. Ever since I watched Casablanca as a teenager I’ve wanted to explore this amazing country and I can certainly say that cities such as Marrakech and Fes exceeded my wildest expectations. The camel ride through the Sahara, though... Wow! Just wow! It was a bucket list item for me and I almost cried when I saw the sun set and rise over the dunes.

  • Rowan W November 2017
  • Kylie H May 2017

    the tour guide - ali g - was amazing. WOW! Blown away by his duty of care for the group and knowledge of Morocco. Mohammed, his assistant was also amazing- best tour I have done. Beats contiki and sail croatia

  • Anonymous May 2017

    Really great trip. Awesome leader. Got to see some amazing sights and experience a night in the Sahara!

  • Daniel K May 2017
  • Anonymous April 2017

    Couldn't have asked for a better tour, it was the perfect pace, great hotels and amazing food. We were lucky enough to just have 3 of us on our tour, and it felt like a private tour with new friends!

  • Anonymous April 2017

    The purchase process (online) was easy and fast. Tour extras were offered but not pushed and reasonably priced

  • Anonymous April 2017

    It was good value for money :)

  • Anonymous April 2017

    An excellent tour and so happy with the experience

  • Regina S April 2017

    A great tour and good value for money.

  • Anonymous April 2017

    All the optionals and most meals were included whic is more than what I have had on other tours

  • Anonymous April 2017

    Small group and stuff I couldn't do on my own

  • Anonymous April 2017

    Didn't deliver on the product promises

  • Alexei G April 2017

    See previous write up in customer experience

  • Read all reviews via Feefo